It looks like a scene out of a country village but this picture was taken in the centre of Watford more than a century ago.
The Watford Observer has again teamed up with Watford Museum and is delighted to showcase some pictures from its archive.
This week’s image is of a small part of Watford that has now vanished named Meeting Alley.
The museum’s volunteer archivist Christine Orchard said: “This narrow little lane ran from the High Street (almost opposite Market Street) through to Estcourt Road – roughly where the pedestrian crossing is at the back of Beechen Grove Church.
“The scene seems so rural but was right in the middle of the town. Despite its central position many houses in this alley had little front gardens.
“In the centre of the picture, to right of the gentleman, is a little clue to help with a rough date. This is a sign saying "W Chance - Chimney Sweep", who we know, from street directories, was living in Meeting Alley in 1907.”
Watford Museum is currently closed under government restrictions but you can still pay it a virtual visit at www.watfordmuseum.org.uk or find the museum on Facebook and Instagram @watfordmuseum
Comments: Our rules
We want our comments to be a lively and valuable part of our community - a place where readers can debate and engage with the most important local issues. The ability to comment on our stories is a privilege, not a right, however, and that privilege may be withdrawn if it is abused or misused.
Please report any comments that break our rules.
Read the rules hereLast Updated:
Report this comment Cancel